tDCS Practical Course

​Open by pre-registration only and with strictly limited space, the tDCS practical course will cover the basic aspects of safe and reproducible tDCS set-up using industry standard equipment. Hardware, accessories, and software will be covered. No background is assumed. By the end of the course, participants are expected to be proficient in the basic set-up of tDCS, HD-tDCS, and related simulation technologies. The course director, Dr. Adam J. Woods, Ph.D. (University of Florida), and instructors have extensive clinical and research experience and will be able to address all practical questions. Participants will be awarded a tDCS practical training certificate upon completion of the course. This course is not open to general conference attendees and requires pre-registration.

Note there are three sessions, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday morning, which do not conflict with the conference lectures.

Confirmed Speakers and Panelists

Conference Overview

NYC Neuromodulation 2013 brings together pioneers and emerging innovations in transcranial Electrical Stimulation. Cutting edge research, clinical trials, and techniques are introduced in a dynamic and interactive format. Learn how the field developed to its current state and the outlook for the next five years. Technologies covered include transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS), transcranial Alternating Current Stimulation (tACS), transcranial Random Noise Stimulation (tRNS), and High-Definition transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (HD-tDCS). Topics covered include design of clinical trials, integration with monitoring technologies (EEG), and deployable technology. Frequent opportunities to interact with speakers and attendees, sponsor exhibits, two large poster sessions (Brain Stimulation journal will publish conference abstracts online), two panel discussions, social events and a certification course provide plenty of networking, educational, investment and collaboration opportunities. There will be five NYC Neuromodulation Awards presented at the end of the conference including Best Poster ($1000 prize). Note the abstract deadline has been extended to November 10, 2013. Directed by Peter K. Toshev, the conference is chaired by Dr. Marom Bikson and hosted at the historic City College of New York in New York City. Join us for what will be a seminal event.​

  • Miguel Alonso-Alonso​ (Harvard Medical School)
  • A.M. Barrett (Kessler Foundation)
  • Sven Bestmann (University College London)
  • Marom Bikson (The City College of New York)
  • ​Jason Carmel (Weill Cornell Medical College)
  • Vince Clark (University of New Mexico)
  • Mar Cortes (Weill Cornell Medical College)
  • Branch Coslett (University of Pennsylvania)​
  • Alexandre DaSilva (University of Michigan)​
  • Dylan Edwards (Weill Cornell Medical College​)​
  • Felipe Fregni (Harvard Medical School)
  • Bernadette Gillick​ (University of Minnesota​)
  • Chris Ikonomidou​ (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Daniel Javitt (Columbia University)
  • Emily Kappenman (University of California, Davis)

Interactive Panels

NYC Neuromodulation 2013 will feature two dynamic panels in which leading clinicians and scientists will discuss and debate issues in Transcranial Electrical Stimulation. Dr. Jason Carmel, M.D., Ph.D. (Weill Cornell Medical College) will moderate the panel on non-invasive brain stimulation in pediatrics and Dr. Mar Cortes, M.D. (Weill Cornell Medical College) will moderate a panel on optimized procedures for tDCS in stroke. Open to questions and comments from the audience, these panels promise to be lively and address the most timely challenges in Transcranial Electrical Stimulation.

NYC Neuromodulation 2013 will be hosted at the historic City College of New York in Manhattan, NYC

NYC Neuromodulation will be presenting 2013 awards in the following categories. All awards will be announced publicly before the conference ends. Selections are made by the NYC Neuromodulation 2013 awards committee.

  • NYC Neuromodulation Pioneer Award: for pioneering development in the field of non-invasive neuromodulation
  • NYC Neuromodulation Mechanism Innovation Award: for advancement of tES mechanisms
  • NYC Neuromodulation Young Investigator Award: for prominent neuromodulation research from young investigator
  • NYC Neuromodulation Clinical Award: for advancement of neuromodulation clinical trials
  • NYC Neuromodulation Best Poster Award: $1000 prize for best all-around conference poster

Neuromodec  Mailing List:

  • Sudha Kessler (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Adam Kirton (University of Calgary)
  • Helena Knotkova (Beth Israel Medical Center, New York)
  • Bart Krekelberg (Rutgers University)
  • Jack Martin (The City College of New York)​
  • Andy McKinley (United States Air Force)
  • Michael Nitsche (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)
  • Lucas Parra (The City College of New York)
  • ​Walter Paulus (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)
  • Davide Reato (The City College of New York)
  • Jessica Richardson (University of South Carolina)
  • Alexander Rotenberg (Harvard University)
  • Vince Walsh (University College London)
  • Adam Woods (University of Florida School of Medicine)

NYC Neuromodulation Awards


NYC Neuromodulation website 

© Copyright 2013, NYC Neuromodulation

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors


Platinum Sponsors

We appreciate everyone's participation to help make this event an inaugural success. The conference combined investigations into basic mechanisms, clinical trial methodologies, monitoring and validation research and practical experience to push forward the frontier of transcranial Electrical Stimulation.

Please stand by for the new website launch, news on the ongoing NYCN Initiatives and join our mailing list if you were interested but unable to join us. Conference pictures can be found on the Gallery page and select speaker presentations have been made available to participants only on the Speaker Slides page.

Congratulations to our NYC Neuromodulation Award Winners

    Pioneer Award

        Dr. Walter Paulus (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)

    Mechanism Innovation Award

        Dr. Michael Nitsche​ (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)​

        Dr. Alexandre F. DaSilva (University of Michigan)

    Young Investigator Award
        Dr. Mar Cortes (Burke Medical Research Institute)
        Dr. Jessica Richardson (University of South Carolina​)
    Clinical Award
        Dr. Dylan Edwards (Burke Medical Research Institute)

     Best Poster Prize ($1000)

        Brian A. Coffman (University of New Mexico)

Thank you NYCN 2013 Conference Speakers, Sponsors and Attendees

NYC Neuromodulation 2013 Conference

migrating to